Tour of Britain stars race from Edinburgh to Kelso – BBC News

Image copyright Sweetspot Image caption Riders will set off from Edinburgh then head through East Lothian and into the Borders

Some of cycling’s biggest names are making the road in Scotland as the Tour of Britain starts.

The opening stage of the week-long race operates from Edinburgh to Kelso.

Among those taking part are 30 -time Tour de France stage winner Mark Cavendish, returning to cycling after breaking his shoulder blade in July .

From Edinburgh riders pass Haddington, Gifford, Duns and Coldstream before making a loop-the-loop through the Borders, starting and finishing in Kelso.

Last year’s event also opened with a Scottish stage from Glasgow to Castle Douglas which was won by German sprinter Andre Greipel.

Stars of cycling expected to be at the starting line this year include Geraint Thomas, Tony Martin, Fernando Gaviria and Dan Martin.

Winners of the Tour of Britain’s stages in Scotland since relaunch

Image copyright SweetSpot Image caption Andre Greipel won the Scottish stage into Castle Douglas last year

2005 – Nick Nuyens( Bel) Glasgow to Castle Douglas 2006 – Martin Pedersen( Den) Glasgow to Castle Douglas 2007 – Paul Manning( GB) Dumfries to Glasgow 2008 – Edvald Boasson Hagen( Nor) Glasgow to Drumlanrig 2009 – Edvald Boasson Hagen( Nor) Peebles to Gretna 2011 – Mark Cavendish( GB) Peebles to Dumfries 2012 – Mark Cavendish( GB) Jedburgh to Dumfries 2013 – Elia Viviani( Ita) Peebles to Drumlanrig 2015 – Elia Viviani( Ita) Cockermouth in Cumbria to Floors Castle, Kelso 2015 – Fernando Gaviria( Col) Edinburgh to Blyth in Northumberland

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *