The changing colourings of La Vuelta’s leader’s jersey

( CNN) Amongst a ocean of high-speed cyclists all sporting an array of different colored jerseys, how do you pick out the race leader?

In each of cycling’s Grand Tours — the Giro d’Italia, the Tour de France and Spain’s La Vuelta — certain colourings are set aside for resulting riders.

The Tour de France’s “maillot jaune” — the yellow jersey — is arguably the most iconic piece of apparel in sport, while the Giro hands an eye-catching pink top to the leader.

In La Vuelta, however, the champion’s jersey has changed complexion numerous periods across the race’s 82 -year history.

It’s gone from orange, to white, then back to orange, then white with a red stripe, then yellow, then orange again, then gold, and finally red — a color organizers have settled on since 2010.

The last race of cycling’s Grand Tours in 2017, La Vuelta got underway in Nimes, France, on August 19, and concludes in the Spanish capital Madrid on September 10.

Riders fight against heavy legs and tired lungs at the end of a long season, but the road is no less grueling than the other two Grand Tours.

READ: How Froome won his fourth Tour de France

READ: The legend of the yellow jersey

READ: Froome’s bids to end 22 -year wait in Vuelta a Espana

The Vuelta’s ‘vicious’ climbs

Tour de France winner Chris Froome is La Vuelta’s current leader, but the hard work is just beginning for the Briton.

The Cumbre del Sol on the ninth stage ascends closely connected to 400 meters over six kilometers, while the Alto de Los Machucos on stage 17 sees monster inclines of up to 28%.

It’s not a amaze that no rider has subdued all three Grand Tours in the same year. Only six humen have won every race, and two of those — Alberto Contador and Vincenzo Nibali — will contest this year’s Vuelta.

For Contador, it’s the final race of a decorated career which includes two victories in the Giro and Le Tour, and three in La Vuelta.

Froome remains the hot favourite to take this year’s race, which started outside Spain for the third time in its history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *